Raidho – Initial Rune Study

Six months ago I started a thorough initial study of the Elder Futhark. Each week I would focus on a new rune, reading the rune poems and a number of published interpretations. While these posts are old (originally posted to my Tumblr), I want to move them over here for easy reference.

Week 5: Raidho/Raido

Basic meanings:  Wagon, Chariot, Riding

Further meanings:  Travel either physical or in life choices, a journey, change of place or setting.  Move within one’s natural limits.  Counsel, advice.  Cosmic law.  Divisions of society, leadership & nobility.  Balance between respecting rights of others and respecting own individual rights.  Freedom with moral responsibility.  Personal or world rhythm, dance of life.

Divinatory meanings:  Evolution.  Travel or journeying.  Seeing a larger perspective, make lifestyle-changing decisions, seeing the right move to make and deciding upon it.  Right action and order.  Starting a new venture.  Being in control.  Movement.  Taking initiative.  Gives sound advice in a reading.

Reverse meanings:  Crisis, rigidity, stasis, injustice, irrationality.  Disruption, dislocation, demotion, delusion, possibly a death.  Warning that a decision or path may be the wrong one.  Control freak, dictator, hypocrite.

Magical uses:  Creating movement, generating motion, taking charge of situations, being in control.  Decision-making or directing a course of action.  Establish control over one’s own circumstances, put things in order and make them subject to your own will.  Extend gradually your degree of control in your limits.  Strengthens ritual abilities and experience.  Gives access to inner advice.  Raises consciousness to right and natural processes.  Blending with personal and world rhythms.  Obtaining justice according to right.  Can aid in spiritual or astral travel as well.

Personal Thoughts On and Associations with Raidho

This will be short.  Not because it was insignificant, but because my ability to word how significant it was is terrible.

Every week so far the rune I am working with becomes terribly relevant.  This week, I was forced to realize how suddenly our life journeys can end.

A 23-year-old I worked with passed away over the weekend.  He was getting married in a few months.  His co-workers don’t know what happened exactly.  It doesn’t seem as if it was a sickness, so we’re left wondering if it was an accident, murder, or suicide.  His family didn’t specify.

He hadn’t worked with us very long yet, but he seemed happy and was very kind.  I saw him on Friday at work.  Just another day.  Then Monday I go in and hear the news.  I feel very sad for his family right now.

Needless to say, it drove home how quickly this journey can end, at least on the physical plane.  We spend so much time stalling in place, thinking we have all the time in the world to get things done.  But we don’t.

One of the descriptions from Edred Thorsson of Raidho’s abilities talks about ascending and descending spirals.  Change is rarely a direct line, but rather progress in circles.  You’ll run across the same things, but differently than before.  Focusing on this spiral movement can urge you out of a rut.

This week I also began to do daily devotions.  Before, it was always more of thing I just did for spellwork, or to ask for something in return for an offering. I’m the kind of person who doesn’t like to get in other people’s way, and apparently that mindset applies to working with gods as well.  But after some encouraging, I thought I might as well try it.

I realized suddenly how little I just talk.  It was suddenly like I could overflow with what I was feeling and going through and not have to worry about being judged, at least not by my peers.  I could talk about problems and even find some solutions.  And then in the end I would sit back and listen.  I do not have a godphone, and while sometimes it felt at the end that I had just talked into the air, other times it felt very much like there was someone on the other side listening to me.  I feel stronger from that, capable of moving forward with this journey I’m on.

Sources for meanings:

  • Sunnyway.com/runes/index.html
  • Runelore by Edred Thorsson
  • Futhark: A Handbook of Rune Magic by Edred Thorsson
  • Principles of Runes by Freya Aswynn
  • Northern Mysteries and Magick by Freya Aswynn

 

Leave a Reply

