Jera – Initial Rune Study

Six months ago I started a thorough initial study of the Elder Futhark. Each week I would focus on a new rune, reading the rune poems and a number of published interpretations. While these posts are old (originally posted to my Tumblr), I want to move them over here for easy reference.

Week 12: Jera

Basic meaning: Year, a good harvest

Further meanings:  A time of peace and happiness, a fruitful season.  Wheel of the year.  Life cycle.  Cyclical nature of all things.  Everything changes in its own time.  Progressive spiral, cyclical but still moving forward.

Divinatory meanings: The results of earlier efforts are realized.  Hopes and expectations of peace and happiness.  The promise of success earned.  Growth that only time and experience can teach.  Could indicate a turning point for the better.

Merkstave meanings (cannot be Reversed): Sudden setback, reversals.  A major change, repetition, bad timing, poverty, conflict.  Repeating negative patterns.

Magical uses:  Can break through stagnancy.  Fertility, creativity.  Peace, harmony. Enlightenment.  Realization of the cyclical nature of the universe.  Realization of mysteries of cycles.  Bringing other concepts into material manifestation.  Personally, I want to use this rune with Fehu in a spell to create opportunities for promotion in the workplace.

Personal thoughts on and associations with Jera

Jera’s number as one of the two middle runes of the Elder Futhark is significant to its meaning of a cyclical symbol.  To me it shows that in the middle of something new beginnings are born.  If you do not sew your seeds, you will have nothing to harvest.

This week I had a little freak out moment due to being halfway through my rune study.  I was going through my usual devotions to Heimdall which I normally do when I’m going to then meditate on my rune of the week when I just sort of stopped and felt overwhelmed by where I was.  I’ve spent over three months learning the runes now, and have another three months to go.  I couldn’t help but feel a lot of doubt, afraid that after all that time I would then attempt to read the runes only to find that I was incapable or that they refused to work with me.

Trying to refocus, I grabbed five runes out of my pouch and cast them.  Four were face down.  The only one face up was Jera.

Nothing could have spoken more to the promise in this rune than that moment.

Sources for meanings:

  • Sunnyway.com/runes/index.html
  • Runelore by Edred Thorsson
  • Futhark: A Handbook of Rune Magic by Edred Thorsson
  • Principles of Runes by Freya Aswynn
  • Northern Mysteries and Magick by Freya Aswynn
Leave a Reply

