Ehwaz – Initial Rune Study

Six months ago I started a thorough initial study of the Elder Futhark. Each week I would focus on a new rune, reading the rune poems and a number of published interpretations. While these posts are old (originally posted to my Tumblr), I want to move them over here for easy reference.

Week 19: Ehwaz

Basic meaning: Horse

Further meanings: Transportation.  May represent a horse, car, plane, boat, or other vehicle.  Harmony, teamwork, trust, loyalty.  An ideal marriage or partnership.  Cooperation, not mastery.  Relates to Sleipnir.

Divinatory meanings: Movement and change for the better.  Gradual development and steady progress are indicated.  Points to a good relationship made of trust and loyalty.  Confirms beyond doubt the meanings of the runes around it.  Helps point out the best in a situation.  Be flexible, adaptable, and pragmatic; follow your instincts.

Reversed/Merkstave meanings: This is not really a negative rune.  May point to a craved change, a feeling of restlessness or confinement.  Reckless haste, disharmony, mistrust, betrayal.

Magical uses: Helpful with healing.  Can play the part of a persona, a means through which to relate to the external world through emotional attitude.  Can assist in astral travel.  Helps you make the best of something.  Aids with projection of magical power.  Facilitates swiftness in every regard.

Personal thoughts on and associations with Ehwaz

Anyone who’s been following my blog for a couple of months knows that I struggle with depression.  Ehwaz helps me not look at it as something horribly wrong with me, but helps me find ways to improve my life by working with my depression more than controlling or denying it.

I know this might sound odd seeing as Ehwaz is supposed to represent a positive thing, and depression is definitely the opposite of positive.  But it’s still a part of me, even if it does seem to have its own separate mind sometimes.  We’re stuck with each other on this journey together, so we might as well make the best of it.

This is also the week I finally decided to seek professional help dealing with my depression, and there we have another partnership of trust.  I don’t really like talking to people, and it’s hard for me to trust someone I’ve only just met.  I do have some issues with my current therapist, but I also know it’s hard to judge much after just one visit as we are both still figuring out where the other is.  Again, another journey.

I’m sure as time goes on I will understand some of the more traditional aspects of this rune, but that’s what I got this week.

Sources for meanings:

  • Sunnyway.com/runes/index.html
  • Runelore by Edred Thorsson
  • Futhark: A Handbook of Rune Magic by Edred Thorsson
  • Principles of Runes by Freya Aswynn
  • Northern Mysteries and Magick by Freya Aswynn
Leave a Reply

