Ingwaz – Initial Rune Study

Six months ago I started a thorough initial study of the Elder Futhark. Each week I would focus on a new rune, reading the rune poems and a number of published interpretations. While these posts are old (originally posted to my Tumblr), I want to move them over here for easy reference.

Week 22: Ingwaz

Basic meaning: Ing, the earth god

Further meanings:  Associations with Freyr.  Male fertility, gestation, internal growth. Common virtues, common sense, simple strengths, famiy love, caring, human warmth, the home.  Can be seen as a progression of Kenaz and Jera.

Divinatory meanings:  A rest stage, a time of relief with no anxiety.  A time when all loose strings are tied and you are free to move in a new direction.  Listen to yourself.  Becoming whole.

Merkstave meanings: Impotence, movement without change.  Production, toil, labor, work.

Magical uses: Storage and transformation of power for ritual use.  Fertility rights.  Passive meditation and centering of energy and thought.  Sudden release of energy.

Personal thoughts on and associations with Ingwaz

Nearing the end of this rune study, I very much look forward to being free to move in a new direction.  It has been a very worthwhile study, and I am really looking forward to putting this knowledge to further use in divination, magic, and historical and cultural studies.

I’ve always considered myself a very earthy person, so this rune was of particular interest to me as a result.  The simplicity and warmth described through it is something I value and always try to reattain when I’m slipping from it.

Overall I see it as a representation of where I am at in my path as well.  I’m taking time to stop analyzing everything and trying to just feel things again.  It’s hard to remember that you don’t always have to reason why you like to do something or why it’s okay to do something.  Sometimes the pleasure of just going through the motions of something you like can be reward enough.

Sources for meanings:

  • Sunnyway.com/runes/index.html
  • Runelore by Edred Thorsson
  • Futhark: A Handbook of Rune Magic by Edred Thorsson
  • Principles of Runes by Freya Aswynn
  • Northern Mysteries and Magick by Freya Aswynn
One thought on “Ingwaz – Initial Rune Study

  1. Nøkken says:

    Reblogged this on Nøkken Song.

Leave a Reply

