Uruz and the Bull

uruzbull

While out trying to do some very frustrating errands today, my path led me to a shop that I wouldn’t have gone to had the random frustrations not led us there.  It was a stop to help me and my partner cool down, an art and carving shop with fair trade merchandise.  I hadn’t planned on getting anything really, I mostly wanted to have my partner look at some of the gecko woodcarvings they had.  But I kept feeling the nudge to go poke around various areas.

We had checked out and were about to leave when I spotted a pile of batik art leaning against a wall.  Out of curiosity, I went to check it out, and there I found my bull.

The bull is my closest understanding to the rune Uruz seeing how aurochs aren’t exactly around anymore.  It shows up so often when it’s time to get something done, no excuses.  This guy’s face is pretty much telling me that, and the coloring is also perfect.  It’s like he’s walked right into that place I put myself when I feel completely alone and out of sync with the world and is like, “I know it sucks, but it’s time to get up and do something about it.”  Uruz especially has been a recurring rune for me, and as such I couldn’t pass this piece of art up.

Leave a Reply

