Dry

The Pagan Blog Project: D is for Dry

Do you ever feel like you are a well and, no matter how deeply you reach, you can’t seem to find anymore water?

I have hit dry spells more often than I would like to admit.  They usually happen when my resources are stretched thin to begin with, which is obviously when I most need to not be completely drained.  Even right now as I write this, I’m recovering from being very sick all week.  I had big plans to do some spellwork this evening.  After all, a full moon on Valentine’s Day on a Friday?  How could you resist if you were at all needing some kind of love in your life?  But the very thought of putting forth the kind of energy needed for for that, let alone the simpler aspects of planning and setting up, makes me feel sick all over again.

From my very little experience, I’ve seen various things that can cause dry spells.  Stress in all of its levels and forms is prominent among them.  Whether we’re talking stress that’s physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, or anything-else-al, all these stress factors, large and small, pull from your personal energy sources.  But even things you may not even consider stressful contribute.  Maybe you love going for a hike in the mountains.  Maybe that’s how you replenish certain energy stores.  But even so, after you are done with the hike, you are still tired and drained physically, even if spiritually you feel rejuvenated.

So what do you do?

First, it’s okay to take a break.  Especially in cases of illness, when your body is telling you that you have to slow down, it’s okay.  And even when the dry spell is brought on by sheer burn-out and apathy, it’s okay.  No matter how hard you search for water in a dry well, there isn’t going to be anymore until there is rain and the source replenishes.  You are your main source, and while there are certain things you can do to aid you in replenishing your energy and health, the first step is to let yourself take a break and rest or heal.

Once you feel like you are past doing nothing, then start small.  Make compromises if you have to.  In my case, while I don’t have the energy for full spellwork, I did have enough energy with the help of my partner to at least redo our home altar.  We worked together to make it a center for love and understanding in our household.  It took much less work, and because I wasn’t afraid to ask for help in this situation, I didn’t have to carry the project through on my own.  And, funny enough, it seemed to work out better this way than how I had originally imagined it.  Don’t you love how that works out sometimes?

Lastly, and the thing that’s sometimes hardest to forget, is not to give up.  It’s sometimes impossible to see how you will ever feel up to par again, especially if you’re in a particularly long low.  Like when you’ve been sick for so long that it’s hard to remember what it was like to be healthy.  Take it slow, be patient, and as much as possible look towards the change you wish to see.  In the case of a dry spell, gradually you will begin to feel energized again.

(Please note, while I compared often to physical and mental illness in this post, I am not suggesting that the same method will work to get you through illness.  If you are sick, see a doctor.)

2 thoughts on “Dry

  1. it’s all an ebb and flow! good topic because sometimes we feel guilty when we’re not on fire and burning up with energy! sometimes it’s okay to be dry! great advice =)

Leave a Reply

