Review of Grasp Tarot Basics in 15 Minutes or Less

Book Review: “Grasp Tarot Basics in 15 Minutes or Less” by Ian Eshey

I downloaded this article to my Kindle awhile ago when it was free for a day (regularly priced at $.99 on Amazon).  I tend to hoard these freebies as they pop up and get around to reading them whenever I do.  So today I finally went through this one.

It’s not lying, it really does only take about 15 minutes to get through it.  It has some good basic understanding information of the Tarot that a lot of the thicker books either barely touch on or go into so much detail that a new person starts to feel lost.  Eshey discusses the basic meanings of the suits and the sequence of the numbers, saying that with this basic information, and with a basic understanding of symbols which usually show up on the card, you can pretty much read Tarot.

I don’t want to put a bunch of notes here as, really, it would practically be copying this short article, but for my own benefit, here’s some information on the Suits which is common knowledge to most Tarot readers but that I always have a tendency to mix up somehow:

  • Cups usually refers to emotions and relationships, aligning with water
  • Wands usually refer to spirit and passion, aligning with fire (and wood)
  • Swords usually refer to intellect and rationality, aligning with air
  • Pentacles/Coins/Disks refer to material possessions, aligning with earth

Eshey seems to heavily favor that reading Tarot is much more about kicking your intuition into action rather than communication with deities/spirits.  By this theory, there is nothing supernatural going on here.  It’s a matter of getting your mind to let go and look at something a different way.  While I can see the value in this, I know many would probably disagree that this is the only possibility for reading Tarot.

I’ve had unfortunately little success with cards, hence why I favor runes.  Because of that, this less-than-mystical approach works better for me, at least to help me understand an approach to start with.  While there are certainly more books and articles published out there that would have more in-depth information and a large variety of approaches to choose from, this isn’t a bad guide to get a basic grasp, especially if the thicker books make you feel like a deer in the headlights.

For a full list of the pagan and magic related books I’ve read and reviewed, check out my Goodreads page.  I’m always looking for more Goodreads friends with similar interests, so feel free to send me a request!

Leave a Reply

