Review of The Norse Myths

Book Review: The Norse Myths by Kevin Crossley-Holland

I’ve been trying to work up the courage and attention span to make it all the way through Eddas for awhile now.  I did read most of the Prose Edda until I got stuck somewhere in the Skáldskaparmál.  Since that didn’t go so well, I found this book for a good rundown on the myths.  What’s pretty great about it is that there’s a full list of notes in the back that tell you where the author pulled the material from and when he takes a little bit of liberty with the story.

Is it a replacement for the originals?  Certainly not, but if you just want some basics about Norse mythology, these are enjoyable as well as educational.  I especially liked his characterizations.  So often mythology is just relayed in writing so flatly and directly that it becomes stale, which is a shame because of how alive it is.  I never really felt that in this book.

The Thor and Loki stories were by far my favorites, partially due to the characterizations, but also just because I’ve always enjoyed those the most.  I continue to wish there was more surviving lore on the goddesses, but in general their stories were well represented here.

If you’re looking for a good starter book about Norse mythology, this is it!

For a full list of the pagan and magic related books I’ve read and reviewed, check out my Goodreads page.  I’m always looking for more Goodreads friends with similar interests, so feel free to send me a request!

Leave a Reply

